Loneliness

I hated loneliness as a kid.

I always tried to fit in so I could have friends to sit with in class or during lunch. I hated being alone because when I did, I felt like an outcast.

Of course, I wasn’t the only one. I noticed how everybody did not want to be alone.

But there is a meaning to this that we fail to see.

We are all alone, whether we admit it or not.

But by learning how to be alone, we can improve our relationships with other people.

We can see a stronger value in our friendships and we can figure out what we truly value as opposed to what we think we’re supposed to value.

I learned to never dread loneliness; being alone is an opportunity for introspection and self-reflection.

Leave a Reply

