The World’s answer and Mine

I asked my fellow students,
“Why do we have to study and memorize this? Why are you even in college?”
They all responded,
“I don’t care. I just need to get a job and earn money to live and eat well.” 

I asked myself,
“Why am I studying? Studying is dull and stiff in school. Why do I want a job? If I’m not happy now, what makes me think that I will be once I get that job or paycheck?”

I’m gnawed over these questions since the beginning of my exposure to standardized education.
I see it now. 

During the start of the Industrial Revolution, the factory system took its place in society.
Even now, there are only two types of people in this world:
The ones who run the factory and the ones who work for it
The ones who have a means of production and the ones who don’t 

From this, wages formed and factory owners inscribed the idea of living and eating well as the purpose for the workers.
Looking at the entirety of human history, this “living and eating well” purpose is

Unfamiliar, Strange, Foreign. 

For countless number of years before the Industrial Revolution, families would work to produce enough for themselves.
Working for wage was unknown and unnecessary at the time.
The way we currently live tremendously digresses from how we have lived for centuries in past.

Thomas Carlyle, an observer of the Industrial Revolution, once said:
“Men are grown mechanical in head and in heart, as well as in hand.”

I refuse to subject myself to the factory owner’s wishes. I refuse to give up my soul.

Leave a Reply

